Members of the Board

Nämä tiedot julkaistaan vain englanniksi

The Board further comprises the following members appointed by the employees, one of who at a time is a deputy member:

Hans Christian Riise  
Kari Ahola (deputy until 30 April 2017) 
Toni H. Madsen
Gerhard Olsson

Ph.D (Economics), 1979.
Board member since 2008 and Chairman since 2011. 
Born 1952. 
Nationality Finnish
Board Chairman of Sampo plc and UPM-Kymmene Corporation.

Other assignments: 

Board Chairman of Hanken School of Economics. 
Board member of several charities, including the Finnish Business and Policy Forum EVA/ETLA and the Mannerheim Foundation.

Previous positions:

Period    Position
2001-2009Group CEO and President, Sampo plc
2005-2007Board Chairman, Sampo Bank plc

Board Chairman and CEO of Mandatum Bank plc


President of Mandatum & Co Ltd


Various positions with Union Bank of Finland including executive vice president and member of the executive committee 1989-1992

1974-1985 Various academic positions, including Professor of Economics at Hanken School of Economics and visiting associate professor at Brown University and Kellogg Graduate School of Management, Northwestern University

BSc (Economics)
Board member since 2007 and Vice Chairman since 2011. 
Born 1955. 
Nationality Swedish. 

Board chairman of TeliaSonera AB (publ) and Securitas AB (publ).  

Vice chairman of Axel Johnson AB.

Other assignments:

Board member of Centre for Advanced Studies of Leadership at Stockholm School of Economics and the Advisory Board Stockholm School of Economics.
Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences (IVA).

Previous positions:

Period  Position

2003 - 2006

CEO TeliaSonera Sverige AB

1982 - 2002

Deputy CEO SAS Group, Head of SAS Airline and other executive positions within the SAS group

1980 - 1982

Information officer at the Ministry of Finance

1979 - 1980

Information officer at the Ministry of Education

1977 - 1979

Financial analyst at Fourth Swedish National Pension Fund

MSc (Economics) 
Board member since 2007.
Born 1962.
Nationality Danish.

CEO of Jungbunzlauer Suisse AG and Board Chairman of several group companies.
Board member of FLSmidth & Co A/S.

Previous positions:


2006 - 2011

CEO Danisco A/S

2000 - 2006

CEO NKT Holding A/S

1996 - 2000

CFO NKT Holding A/S

1988 - 1996

Various positions within Niro A/S

1985 - 1988

Various positions within Fællesbanken

BA Honours (Economics) and MSc (Accounting & Finance)
Board member since 2014.
Born 1961.
Nationality American and British. 

Board member of Oras Invest Ltd 

Other assignments:

Board member of UK Government Investments Limited

Previous position

1985-2012Various positions within J.P. Morgan
Head, Wealth Management for Southeast, USA
Head, Nordics Investment Bank, UK
Head, Mergers & Acquisitions Execution, European Financial Institutions, UK
Head, Commercial Banking Group, UK
Managing Director, Financial Institutions Investment Banking, UK
Vice President, Mergers & Acquisitions, UK
International Capital Markets, USA

Law studies at Uppsala University
Board member since 2003.
Born 1943.
Nationality Swedish.

Board Chairman of Vattenfall AB.
Board member of Viking Line Abp.

Other assignments:

Board Chairman of the Finnish-Swedish Chamber of Commerce.
Board member of the Swedish-American Chamber of Commerce and Centre for Business and Policy Studies (SNS).
Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences (IVA).
Honorary consul of Finland in Sweden.

Previous positions:

Previous position

2008 - 2011

President and Group CEO of Posten Norden AB

2006 - 2010

Board member of TeliaSonera AB

2005 - 2009

Board Chairman of the Royal Swedish Opera

2002 - 2007

President and Group CEO Nordea Bank AB

1993 - 2002

Various executive management positions within Nordea Group

1970 - 1993

Various positions within Skandinaviska Enskilda Banken (Excutive Vice President from 1989)

Master of Applied Finance
Board member since 2010. 
Born 1962. 
Nationality: Australian.

CEO Aegon Asset Management Holdings NV and Board member of several other group companies.
Vice Chairman of the Supervisory Board of La Banque Postale Asset Management SA.

Other assignments:

Member of the Supervisory Board of Nederlands Investeringsinstelling NV

Previous positions:

Previous position
Various positions within ABN AMRO
Senior Executive Vice President and CEO of ABN AMRO Asset Management Holdings NV
Managing Director and CFO of Wholesale Clients Business Unit
Global Head of Financial Markets Research and Financial Markets Infrastructure Support as well as member of Financial Markets Executive Committee
Business Manager to Senior Executive Vice President of Global Financial Markets
Director, Head of Corporate Sales Australia and New Zealand
Director, Head of Commodities in Sydney
Associate Director and Director, Treasury Sales in Sydney
1981-1994Various positions within Toronto Dominion Australia Limited in a number of trading, sales and management roles in Financial Markets

MBA, Ph.D (Mathematical science) and MSc (Computer Science)
Board member since 2015.
Born 1970.
Nationality: Norwegian.

Board member of Enoro Holding AS, Academedia AB, Syncron AB and Eidsiva Energi AS.

Other assignments:

Board member of Norsk rikskringkasting AS (NRK), Oslo Business Region AS, Simula Research Laboratory AS, Transparency International Norge, Seema AS and Kavli Trust. 

Chairman of the board of Polyteknisk Forening. 

Member of the Corporate Assembly (Nor. Bedriftsforsamlingen) and the Nomination Committee of Telenor ASA.

Previous positions:

Previous position
Managing director of TechnoRocks AS
Director of Business Management at Microsoft Development Center, Norway 
Vice President for Services Strategic Development, Product Marketing and Strategic Development at Fast Search & Transfer ASA
Prize Fellow, Tutor and Lecturer at University of Oxford, the UK
Visiting Researcher at the Chinese Academy of Sciences in Beijing, China
Assistant Professor and Programme Manager at Dar Al Hekma University in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Visiting Researcher at DEC/Compaq Systems Research Center in Palo Alto, USA
Scientific Researcher at Norwegian Computing Centre
1994-1996IT developer at Skrivervik Data

Master of Science (Engineering) and Bachelor of Business Administration
Board member since 2010.
Born 1955.
Nationality: Finnish.

Group CEO and President of Sampo plc.
Board Chairman of If P&C Insurance Holding Ltd and Mandatum Life Insurance Company Limited.
Board member of Nokia Corporation and Waypoint Group Holding Ltd.

Other assignments:

Board member of The Federation of Finnish Financial Services and Niilo Helander Foundation.

Previous positions:

Previous position
Deputy CEO of Sampo plc
President of Sampo Life Insurance Company Ltd
President of Nova Life Insurance Company Ltd
President of Jaakko Pöyry Group
President of JP Finance Oy

MSc (Computer Science) and MBA
Board member since 2015. 
Born 1966. 
Nationality: Norwegian.

CEO of Parallels, Inc.
Board member of Schibsted ASA

Other assignments:

Member of the Board of Trustees of the Nordic Heritage Museum in Seattle.

Previous positions:

PeriodPrevious position
Vice President of Worldwide SMB & Distribution at Microsoft Corporation
General Manager of Microsoft Russia
General Manager of Microsoft Norge
CEO of Scandinavia Online AB
Vice President of Business Development of Schibsted ASA
Consultant of McKinsey & Company
Oil Trader and Managing Director of Norwegian Oil Trading AS