Members of the Board

Informasjonen er ikke tilgjengelig på norsk, men finnes på engelsk.

The Board consists of the following members elected by the shareholders at the AGM 2014:

The Board further comprises the following members appointed by the employees, one of who at a time is a deputy member:

  • Kari Ahola
  • Toni H. Madsen
  • Lars Oddestad (deputy 1 November 2013 - 30 April 2014)
  • Hans Christian Riise


Björn Wahlroos

Björn Wahlroos, Chairman

Ph.D (Economics), 1979.
Board member since 2008 and Chairman since 2011.
Born 1952.
Nationality: Finnish

Board Chairman of Sampo plc and UPM-Kymmene Corporation.

Other assignments:
Board Chairman
of Hanken School of Economics.
Board member of several charities, including the Finnish Business and Policy Forum EVA/ETLA and the Mannerheim Foundation.

Previous positions:


Group CEO and President, Sampo plc


Board Chairman, Sampo Bank plc


Board Chairman and CEO of Mandatum Bank plc


President of Mandatum & Co Ltd


Various positions with Union Bank of Finland including executive vice president and member of the executive committee 1989-1992


Visiting associate professor in Managerial Economics and Decision Sciences at Kellogg Graduate School of
Management, Northwestern University


Visiting assistant professor in Economics at Brown University


Professor of Economics at Hanken Swedish School of Economics


Assistant professor and lecturer in Finance at Hanken Swedish School of Economics

Shareholding in Nordea: Insider register/transactions

Marie Ehrling

Marie Ehrling, Vice Chairman

BSc (Economics)
Board member since 2007 and Vice Chairman since 2011.
Born 1955.
Nationality: Swedish.

Board chairman
of TeliaSonera AB (publ)
Board member of Securitas AB (publ) and Axel Johnson AB.

Other assignments:
Board member of Centre for Advanced Studies of Leadership at Stockholm School of Economics and the Advisory Board Stockholm School of Economics.
Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences (IVA).

Previous positions:

2003 - 2006

CEO TeliaSonera Sverige AB

1982 - 2002

Deputy CEO SAS Group, Head of SAS Airline and other executive positions within the SAS group

1980 - 1982

Information officer at the Ministry of Finance

1979 - 1980

Information officer at the Ministry of Education

1977 - 1979

Financial analyst at Fourth Swedish National Pension Fund

Shareholding in Nordea: Insider register/transactions

Robin Lawther

Robin Lawther

BA Honours (Economics) and MSc (Accounting and Finance)
Board member since 2014.
Born 1961.
Nationality: American and British.

Board member
of UK Government’s Shareholder Executive

Other assignments:
of the Swedish American Chamber of Commerce Women's Mentoring Program.

Previous positions:


Various positions within J.P. Morgan 


Various executive management and other positions within UBS investment banking and private banking.

Shareholding in Nordea: Insider register/transactions


Tom Knutzen

Tom Knutzen

MSc (Economics)
Board member since 2007.
Born 1962.
Nationality: Danish.

CEO of Jungbunzlauer Suisse AG and Board Chairman of a group company.
Board member of FLSmidth & Co A/S.

Previous positions:

2006 - 2011

CEO Danisco A/S

2000 - 2006

CEO NKT Holding A/S

1996 - 2000

CFO NKT Holding A/S

1988 - 1996

Various positions within Niro A/S

1985 - 1988

Various positions within Fællesbanken

Shareholding in Nordea: Insider register/transactions

Lars G Nordström

Lars G Nordström

Law studies at Uppsala University
Board member since 2003.
Born 1943.
Nationality: Swedish.

Board Chairman of Vattenfall AB.
Board member of Viking Line Abp.

Other assignments:
Board Chairman
of the Finnish-Swedish Chamber of Commerce.
Board member of the Swedish-American Chamber of Commerce.
Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences (IVA).
Honorary consul of Finland in Sweden.

Previous positions:

2008 - 2011

President and Group CEO of Posten Norden AB

2006 - 2010

Board member of TeliaSonera AB

2005 - 2009

Board Chairman of the Royal Swedish Opera

2002 - 2007

President and Group CEO Nordea Bank AB

1993 - 2002

Various executive management positions within Nordea Group

1970 - 1993

Various positions within Skandinaviska Enskilda Banken (Excutive Vice President from 1989)

Shareholding in Nordea: Insider register/transactions

Sarah Russell

Sarah Russell

Master of Applied Finance.
Board member since 2010.
Born 1962.
Nationality: Australian.

CEO Aegon Asset Management Holdings NV and Board member of a group company

Previous positions:


Various positions within ABN AMRO
2006-2008 - Senior Executive Vice President and CEO of ABN AMRO Asset Management Holdings NV
2004-2005 - Managing Director and CFO of Wholesale Clients Business Unit
2002-2004 - Global Head of Financial Markets Research and Financial Markets Infrastructure Support as well as member of Financial Markets Executive Committee
2000-2002 - Business Manager to Senior Executive Vice President of Global Financial Markets
1998-2000 - Director, Head of Corporate Sales Australia and New Zealand
1997-1998 - Director, Head of Commodities in Sydney
1994-1997 - Associate Director and Director, Treasury Sales in Sydney


Various positions within Toronto Dominion Australia Limited in a number of trading, sales and management roles in Financial Markets

Shareholding in Nordea: Insider register/transactions

Kari Stadigh

Kari Stadigh

Master of Science (Engineering) and Bachelor of Business Administration.
Board member since 2010.
Born 1955.
Nationality: Finnish.

Group CEO and President of Sampo plc.
Board Chairman of If P&C Insurance Holding Ltd and Mandatum Life Insurance Company Limited.
Board member of Nokia Corporation.

Other assignments:
Vice Chariman
of The Federation of Finnish Financial Services.
Board member of Finland Chamber of Commerce and Niilo Helander Foundation.

Previous positions:


Deputy CEO of Sampo plc


President of Sampo Life Insurance Company Ltd


President of Nova Life Insurance Company Ltd


President of Jaakko Pöyry Group


President of JP Finance Oy

Shareholding in Nordea: Insider register/transactions