Nordea complies with applicable rules regarding the independence of the Board. The Nomination Committee considers all of the members elected by the shareholders to be independent of the Company and its executive management.

All Board members elected by the shareholders, apart from Björn Wahlroos and Torbjörn Magnusson are independent in relation to the Company’s major shareholders. Björn Wahlroos is chairman of Sampo plc and Torbjörn Magnusson is member of Group Executive Committee of Sampo plc, which owns more than ten per cent of all shares and votes in Nordea Bank AB (publ).

Thus, the number of Board members who are independent in relation to the Company and its executive management, and independent in relation to the Company’s major shareholders, exceeds the minimum requirements.

No Board member elected by the General Meeting is employed by or works in an operative capacity at the Company. All Board members and the deputy Board member appointed by the employees are employed by the Nordea Group and are therefore not independent of the Company.

Updated: March 2018

The table shows the independence of the individual Board members in relation to the Company and its executive management as well as to the major shareholders, in accordance with the consideration of the Nomination Committee.

Board membersCompany and its
executive management
Major shareholders
Elected by AGM  
Björn Wahlroos, Chairman YesNo
Lars G Nordström, Vice Chairman YesYes
Pernille Erenbjerg YesYes
Nigel HinshelwoodYesYes
Robin Lawther YesYes 
Torbjörn MagnussonYesNo
Sarah Russell
Silvija Seres YesYes
Birger Steen
Maria Varsellona    YesYes
Appointed by employees* 
Kari Ahola  NoYes 
Dorrit Groth Brandt   NoYes 
Gerhard Olsson  NoYes 
Hans Christian Riise   NoYes 

* One of the appointed members is a deputy member. Who this is changes every half-year according to a routating schedule.
Updated: March 2018